Report of the Appeals Commission (Playing Rules)

The work of our Commission is getting easier by each passing year – no remaining email tournaments means that the often acrimonious appeal cases involving "lost emails" are rarely landing on our desk any more, except for the occasional ones from postal events where the players have agreed to use email transmission.

Because of the very nature of server play it is obvious that most of these appeals are based upon trivial misunderstandings of the rules, and such appeals are customarily dealt with directly by the Chairman, according to §3 of our working procedure. (This was quoted in its entirety in our report for the 2004 Congress.) Only a few server appeals had to be dealt with using the reviewing procedure, and not a single one needed the attendance of a full plenary session.

However, the remaining postal events have kept us somewhat busy this year, in particular during the past month, and in December 2010 we needed to hold our only plenary session since last Congress - involving a postal game which had been played by email...

The current member list is given in the Appendix. No new members have been appointed during the year.

Finally, I wish to express my sincere thanks to all members of the Commission for your valuable input during the past year.

Amici sumus

Ragnar Wikman Chairman of the ICCF Appeals Commission (Playing Rules)

Appendix: Current members of the Appeals Commission (Playing Rules) Ragnar Wikman (FIN) - Chairman Leo Lahdenmäki (FIN) - Secretary Jose Amorim (BRA) Ian Brooks (ENG) Marco Caressa (ITA) Carlos Flores (ESP) Cecilio Hernáez (ESP) Ralph Marconi (CAN) Wes Underwood (USA)